• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Glow plug relay question

Rassmuss

Got a new GP relay that has "BAT" scribed into the relay at one of the terminals. Newbie question, but is that where the 12V from the resistors should go? The truck did not previously have a relay so I'm starting from nothing.

Part of why I'm asking is if I connect it this way it's not oriented the way I see them in pictures Google etc. Does the orientation even matter as long as the wiring is correct?

I'm new to the CUCV scene so take it easy on me. I've been looking over the TMs and plan to post up pictures of the trucks soon. They are a '86 M1031 and a '85 M1009.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

Keith_J

Yes, it matters on some solenoids. Some may have a diode in parallel to the coil to snub back voltage generated when the solenoid disengages. The magnet field collapsing causes a sharp reverse current which arcs switch contacts and lets magic smoke out of transistors.

If labeled BAT, it connects to the black-pink wire. The blue wire on the other small terminal goes to the controller where it is connected to ground to activate glow plugs. Hook it up incorrect and you will pop a fuse or worse. Test polarity before connecting, +12V goes to the BAT terminal, a test light is enough.

The large terminals don't matter on polarity as they are just contacts

Last edited:

Keith_J

This polarity warning applies to all solenoids, marked or not. How do you know if there is a protection diode? Markings are there easy clue. But some aren't marked, testing with a multimeter is the only way to be sure.