• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Headlight Questions

CSX4350

Hello listers, a newbie here with a couple of quick questions. i recently bought a 1968 M35A2 that had been "fully restored". We won't go into that....

Anyway, among other things the drivers side headlight is out. I went to remove it and found that I have no idea what I'm looking at. I've never seen headlight connectors like this. I understand that the wires are permanently affixed to the light, and I assume that they somehow unplug from the back of the headlight bucket. This is where I start to get lost, I don't understand how they unplug and don't want to break anything.

Second, looking into the left (drivers) side headlight bucket, there are electrical connectors at 10:00, 2:00 and 6:00. I assume one is low beam, one high beam and one is the ground, but which wire is which? I can see the wire at 10:00 has been kinked and is a bit frayed behind the bucket, just wondering if this is the low beam and could possibly be the problem.

I have searched quite a few different ways but couldn't find any information on these questions. I did see a thread on converting to H4's, and may just do that, but still would like this information.

TIA

John

Westech

CPL
ok first of all get the TM (technical manual) and START READING!!

you can get the lights off eBay or any of the military parts suppliers. The wires have a little crimp band with a number on it. That number matches with the number it plugs in to. If there rubber they just pull off... if there metal a 1/4 turn and it pulls off.. like a auto light bulb.

CSX4350