• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Houston Generator info Needed

RustyInHouston

Gents,

URGENT HELP NEEDED I'm in Houston, and having a **** of a time with my MEP017a Generator. Can you reach out to your friends and help us?

I'm a marine engineer and have extensive experience with generators and power generation. I just need y'alls help in fixing the common gremlins.

We happen to be on high ground (planned :) ) but we now need my (broken) generator.

MEP017aSymptoms:
· Engine runs good, can maintain 60/61 HZ, but engine seems to "hunt" under zero load. (not uncommon)
· Voltage output at 208/120/3ph "dances" around 170v. Rheostat only changes voltage between 120v-170v
· I cannot get the 208 3ph that we need.
· Single phase operation is nearly impossible to get consistent 120v power.
· We have tried the "field flash" switch, and held it as long as 5 seconds (engine off)
· Fuel is good and reliable, we are burning 100LL (low-lead), and the engine is running good.
· We are now on an "island" and spares are not a possibility.

Help?

Rusty
832-510-6020

Guyfang

Staff member
Rusty,

Have you ever seen this gen set work right? Is it new to you all, or is it something just acquired?

1. The hunting could be a sign of the fuel system having too much lacquer in it. You know, when gas sets too long someplace, a lacquer film forms. OR, it could be your mechanical fuel pump is weak. Or you have some kind of restriction/clogging in the system. As you know, this is not the newest of gen sets, so this could very easily be the problem. Also check the linkage to the Carb. It must move freely. If I had some carb cleaner, I would toss a can into the fuel tank.