• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Hummer Engine and Transmission in a Humvee?

erasedhammer

Can you put a hummer h1's 6.5td and 4l80e into a humvee? I know that some other components are different between the hummer and humvee, like the transfer case, but would a hummers engine and tranny bolt right into a humvee? I already have the 242 tc

Wire Fox

I'm not an expert in this yet, but I know it well enough to know the hummer engine will have all 12v components and the humvee 24v components. It'd be an annoying expense to replace all the electrical components.

But I do want to know what that difference might be for the transfer case. I was about to go buy a 242 that's being pulled from sn H1. I haven't bought it yet, so hearing my risk would be appreciated.

erasedhammer

I'm not an expert in this yet, but I know it well enough to know the hummer engine will have all 12v components and the humvee 24v components. It'd be an annoying expense to replace all the electrical components.

But I do want to know what that difference might be for the transfer case. I was about to go buy a 242 that's being pulled from sn H1. I haven't bought it yet, so hearing my risk would be appreciated.
Well for the engine I have the dual voltage regulator so replacing the components I shouldnt need to do.

As for the tc, All I know is that the civi one has the cooling loop only around one part of the transfer case, versus the military which surrounds the whole thing. I believe the bolting pattern is the same though.

dilvoy