• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Interchangability of M101A3 Hummer Wheels With M101A2 Wheels

storeman

Hi,
I'm a newbie who has been lurking for a while. I am retired Army but am new to buying military surplus. I've recently won a M101A3 with good tires and am waiting for my EUC to clear. Am also waiting for a EUC on a skid-mounted generator.

I would like to bid on another generator which is mounted on a M116A2 trailer. The trailer has a flat tire. My question is can I remove the wheels/tires from the M101A3 when I get it home and take them with me for the next trip and change them out to the generator trailer in order to pull it home 300 miles? I have searched but can't find anything on the interchangeability of the rims.

Also, I've seen posts that say the M116a2 takes Chevy 16x6" rims (8 lug) and others that say 16x6.5. If the bigger A3 wheels won't work, I guess I'll be putting together a spare and trying to get the flat tire replaced before towing home. Info on the rim and tire size would help in assembling a spare.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Jerry

Barrman

The A3 or HMMWV rims will bolt right up to the A2 version of the trailer. The tires will even clear everything except the parking brake cables. You will have to lossen the cables in the handles, then unbolt the cable housing. Slide the housing back as far as you can in the clamp holding it to the frame and tighten it back down again. If you keep it twisted just right, it will clear the tires. However, if you adjust the brake handle too much, the housing will just slide forward again and rub the tires. Mine did at least.

Or, you could just loosen the handles, unbolt the housing and zip tie it out of the way for your recovery. that will work fine.

doghead