• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Ip heat soak

Cucvnut

So. I think my IP is bad but has any one heard of them getting heat soaked like a starter? I searched and came up with nothing. The deal is when cold it starts great but when hot the truck just turns over and wont start. The gp's should not effect a warm motor or am I wrong?

jdemaris

So. I think my IP is bad but has any one heard of them getting heat soaked like a starter? I searched and came up with nothing. The deal is when cold it starts great but when hot the truck just turns over and wont start. The gp's should not effect a warm motor or am I wrong?
I've never heard the term "heat soak" and I've been a diesel mechanic for over 40 years. Regional or new term maybe?

With starters, if you mean when they crank well cold, but not hot - it's often caused by overheated solenoid too close to the exhaust manifold (on some Chevys), high-compression and/or over-advanced ignition, etc.

With Standyne injrection pumps? Yes, very common problem when the main part of the pump is worn-out (head & rotor assembly). It's been a big problem with military engines run on JP8 military fuel in hot weather. When warm. the pump can pass enough fuel to start when cold, because the parts fit tight enough. When hot, they expand, and the pump cannot overcome the internal leaks at cranking speed. It WILL often still run fine once it's going. Easy test. Turn the engine off (when warm). They douse the pump with cool water, but make sure you only do that with the engine OFF. Then, see if it starts. If it does, it's worn out.