• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Looking to buy a blazer.

Redfive0

Looking to buy a blazer. what should and shouldn't i want and be on the look out for I'm going to look at seven of them this Friday. I'm also new to the m109 family and this will be my first blazer so its a lot to digest I'm also going to drive it everyday to and from work about 20 miles total a day. Any tips? thanks

Shop Rat Fab

Here are my suggestions on what to look for and this is only in my opinion. Obviously rust especially behind the seat where the gun holders are on the floor and the rocker panels. Worn door hinges and striker plate/pin. Next would be glow plug wait to start operation, if it is inop the Glow Plug Controller card starts at $50. I would make sure the charging system is operating based on the voltmeter on the dash or by using a hand held voltmeter on the batteries, a rebuilt alternator can be over $125 each to buy and not sure on cost of having one rebuilt. Dash light operation but thats an easy fix just twist the bulb sockets and the liights will start working if the bulbs are not burned out. Good Luck in your search.[thumbzup]

firecontrol86

are you buying from a dealer? that's what i did. i test drove a few of them and started figuring out which ones would need the most to make it a daily driver. for example one sounded like it ran a little better than another, but on the road it was like i was in a fight to keep it in my lane. i definitely agree with the post above about glow plug operation! the day after i got my m1009 a glow plug was shot and it wouldn't start. i had to replace all of them for good measure.