• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M35 terminology

maddawg308

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Okay, since I am about to join the ranks of deuce owners, there is some terminology that I have yet to understand. Please define the following for me since I am new to big trucks and am learning. Thanks,

Top Loader

Sprag

Torque Rod

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Top Loader...The type of differentials used in the M35 series, it's put in the housing from the top.
Sprag..........One of two types of t-cases used in these beasts. The Sprag is sort of an auto type that works only if you use 1st and rev. when starting out, the air type uses a lever on/under the dash to engage the front end. My sprag...well, that's another story!!
Torque Rod....The "Dog Bone" lookin' things attached to the rear diffs from the frame, used to keep the diffs in line and not let them walk side to side too far. One on top and two on the bottom at each rear diff.

DDoyle

Supporting Vendor
Differntial internals are inserted from the top (horizontal plane) on G-742 vehicles - conventional differentials go together from the vertical plane.

Torque rod - when you throttle up a vehicle, the force that turns the wheel also tries to turn the axle in the opposite direction. On a typical rear wheel drive passenger car this force is resisted by the spring - which does allow some movement (and wheel hop under severe power applications). The torque rod adds rigidity to the suspension, to counter these and as well as side to side forces.