• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M35A3 n00b Owner - Bundy Hill Adventure

Belagurus

I purchased my M35A3 with the intent of using it as a recreational vehicle. So far, the vehicle has been a ton of fun. At the encouragement of another un-named Steel Soldiers member, I have chosen to post the story of my first adventure with the vehicle.

Keep in mind as you read this that I work as a computer geek - clean rooms, data centers and rows upon rows of neat, orderly, and clean servers are what I am accustomed to.

Five days after purchasing the Vehicle, I decided to take it off-road for the first time. I selected Bundy Hill ORV Park as the venue for my first excursion. It took about 1.5 hours to get there traveling at 53mph (seems to be about 2950 RPM on this truck). Before heading in and wheeling, I asked if they had a way to get me unstuck if I proved to have more balls than brains. Operating as a gravel pit during the week, I was assured it would not be a problem. So, in we went. It only took me 30 minutes to bury the M35A3 up to it's fenders, water coming in the passenger side door. I had no intention of EVER taking my M35A3 that deep, but I was unfortunate enough that someone with a custom rig running on 60"+ tractor tires had been playing in the center of the hole an hour previous. I had tested the hole 1/3 of the way from each side before proceeding with the crossing - was only bumper deep. I thought for sure that at only a truck length and a half, this was going ot be an easy crossing. My heart really sank when the front-end suddenly sunk and the vehicle landed solidly on it's frame in his ruts. I had also took the hole at about 15mph.