• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Manual Glow Plugs!

cjkeeliii

Last night I completed my manual glow plug modification. I removed the light blue and dark blue wires from the glow plug card holder and connected them to a 60 Amperes, push-button switch from Tractor Supply.
Before this modification my glow plug card would activate the plugs for 5-10 minutes at a time toward the end of the cycle. On cold days I could drive 4 or 5 miles with the plugs still on. It got to the point of me removing the card after the truck started.
For this modification I don't know if it was necessary to remove the card, but it seemed to me that the card would still try to work even if a manual switch was installed. I'm no electrician. Anyhow, the dark blue wire routes to the "Wait" light and the light blue wire operates the plugs. I used 10 gauge primary wire (overkill?) and heat-shrunk the terminals. I put the button on the plastic cover for the radio blank. The switch was grounded to that area under the driver's side dash that has the multi-pronged part. Hope this isn't too technical :wink:.
I inserted a spade terminal into the blue wires' terminals and taped the connection with electrician's tape. I removed the wires from the plastic plug holder with great difficulty, but managed not to damage them. Thanks to everyone who ever contributed to this site and the site itself. I would never have known this mod was possible or even how to attempt it. All of the posts regarding the manual glow plug setup are very informative.

dstang97

5-10 minutes? I like the stock system and have a push button as emergency. unless you disconnect the blue wire your card will still work. so your really not gaining anything unless you push it longer than the card

cjkeeliii