• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP-003A pre-heat electrical help

Sousakerry

Hello,

I am working on a re-power project for a railroad museum utilizing the engines from MEP-003A gen-sets. We acquired 3 engines for near scrap price a few months ago and they are the engine only, no controls and missing a few parts here and there nothing major.

I am a machinist/designer by trade and I built my own custom flywheel and clutch housing adapters. The first engine is fitted and has had a few miles of testing and so far works great.

My current(pun intended) problem is I am trying to get the preheat system working as the engine is hard starting even at 80 degrees. Once warmed up to operating temperature it starts just fine. I did some testing and all glow pugs and the manifold heaters measure fine with an Ohm meter. I connected the wires to the batteries temporarily using a length of 12ga copper wire and after about 10 seconds the wire got hot. I do not have a proper amp meter but I wired up an amp meter of an old charging system and it runs about 30 amps.

The wiring diagram for the engine does not help very much and only shows 16ga wire going to the glow plugs. I do not see the intake manifold heater in the circuit. Can anyone here shed some light on this for me?

Here is a link to a video of the first time the machine was under it's own power as a diesel.
https://youtu.be/d1lVkZIOBnk

Guyfang

Staff member
What criteria are you using when you say that the glow plugs and manifold heater mesure fine? Are you using the TM's to compare against?