• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP 803a will not hold high pressure side prime.

lmm2012

Hello everyone I'm new to this form, however I have read quite a few posts about the 803a and have quite a bit of diesel experience. The problem I'm having is I replaced a broken injector and now its behaving strange. I have bleed the lines per the tech manual several times and it will eventually start every time. All the low pressure connections are tight and vacuum checked. Ran it yesterday at 75-100 precent load for about 6 hours, now this afternoon went to start it again and same story. Waited 60sec for the prime pump then went to start, it coughed ans sputtered but finally got up to 60hz and sounded normal as before. Before I had an injector issue it lit off almost immediately with only a few seconds of prime pump. Although it's working it doesn't seem quite right, any thoughts on what to do next?

Ray70

OEM injector or the $50 Chinese injectors?
What style main electric fuel pump is in it?
All you did was pull the cover and swap that 1 injector, correct?
I don't think the problem is with that 1 cylinder. The machine should still lite off right away even on 3 cyl.
Sounds more like an issue upstream of the metering pumps.
Sounds like a bad electric fuel pump, but I wouldn't expect you to be able to reach 75%-100% load if it was going bad, probably 50% at best.
Have you pulled a low side line etc. to check pump flow / pressure?
The LPW4 doesn't like to run on gravity feed only, you often need a little pressure to get the metering pumps working.

lmm2012

OEM injector or the $50 Chinese injectors?
What style main electric fuel pump is in it?
All you did was pull the cover and swap that 1 injector, correct?