• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Need help please. M929 will not run. Still on base :(

Axeman68

Hello all,
I was wondering if I could get some advise from our seasoned owners?
I have recently purchased a M929 dump truck with the Cummins NHC 250. (2320-01-047-8756) from the GL website.
The truck was running fine when listed.
When I attempted to start it up for the first time (still on base), it would turn over but would not fire up. I cranked it over for several minutes but it would not fire.
I opened the petcock and pumped the fuel primer pump. Fuel was good.
Then I discovered that the "emergency engine stop" had been pulled the entire time. Eerrrhhh! Total newbie mistake :(
Once the engine stop was pushed back in, it fired up instantly. Unfortunately, it sounds like it is only running on two cylinders. It stays running barely and will not accelerate at all.
My question is:
1) Do you think the reason it will not run is due to the fact that I attempted to start the engine with the "emergency engine stop engaged"?
2) What was the likely effect of cranking the engine over with the "emergency engine stop engaged"? (air in the system?)
3) What is the procedure for correcting the issue?

Thank you in advance for your reply.

Sincerely,
Ted

timntrucks

Steel Soldiers Supporter
sounds like its sucking air from somewhere. i dont think you did any damage by cranking it with fuel shut off in the off postion. how long did you let it run at this low speed

Axeman68

It ran for two to three minutes just barely chugging before I cut it off (didn't want to do more damage). black exhaust present.
Would cranking it with the fuel shutoff engaged pull air in?

timntrucks

Steel Soldiers Supporter