• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New CUCV & diesel additive

xyzzy

Well, I love my new CUCV. However, this morning, after a night of sub-freezing temps, I can't get it started.

The starter spins, but it just won't -quite- turn over and run. It sounds like it's about to, but it just doesn't quite start. Batteries seem fine. It's also on Manual Glow plugs.

My truck was delivered from Arkansas, and I have a feeling the fuel in the truck doesn't have the additives that are put into the fuel here in Colorado.

My question is, should I just use starter fluid? I've never used starter fluid before, and have heard many of times on this forum to "never use starter fluid". What other alternatives are there at this point?

Would just buying winter additive and adding it to the fuel be sufficient?

I have a feeling the fuel has just jelled.

Thanks!

mangus580

Never use starting fluid with glow plugs. use Pure silicone spray.

My guess is, your fuel is quite possibly gelled. Can you get it inside somewhere to warm it up? Winter additive will help it once it ungells

xyzzy

Yeah no warm garage here.... stuck outside..

it's been like 40 during the day though.. might try to use some additive
and some fresh diesel that has the additives.. if all else fails i guess
there's always starting fluid.

CCATLETT1984