• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New M998 Slantback owner, admittedly ignorant, seeking guidance

A New Guy

Hi and thanks for letting me join the group. I have recently acuired an M998 with an installed crate P400 mated to a 4L85E trans and a customized suspension set up to carry an aftermarket armor solution. Approximately 100 miles on the swap. I'm completely new to HMMWVs in general. Im decently mechanically inclined but this thing is currently a real charlie foxtrot in terms of what's there and what isn't.
Example, trans stays in somewhat of a "limp mode" which is second gear (tops out about 42mph) and refuses to shift. That's not even the weird part... the OEM shifter [R-N-D-2-1] is still in place with the mechanical linkage connected to the trans but the transfer case is missing the shifter and linkage and has an Arens shift by wire t-case power box installed. Stranger still is an Arens 4L80E trans power box was in a box of "new" (2011) parts that also came with the truck. The transmission harness is wired for the Arens controller and all the terminals are intact. However, there is no actuator whatsoever on the trans aside from the OEM shift linkage. Also noteworthy is that I have yet to locate a transmission control module on the vehicle, just the Arens that was in the box. Truck was originally equipped with a 6.2L diesel and HD trans and transfer case (also on a pallet that came with the truck). Purchased and converted by an armor manufacturer as a marketing rig to showcase a heavy armor package, unfortunately none of the original project team is still with the company. The truck sat in storage for the last 6-7 years before I acquired it (minus the armor package).