• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New Memeber, New to MV, Need M101 Advice Please

bob95065

As the title states I am new to Military Vehicles and new to this forum.

I am interested in a M101 series trailer for hauling firewood. I have a 1997 Dodge 2500 4x4 with a Cummins diesel engine that I will use to pull the trailer.

I searched the forum for information on M101 trailers. I think the M101A2 would best meet my needs. I am interested in a trailer that I can get parts for easily. It seems like the m101A2 would be easier to get tires and rims for than a A1 or A3. Is this true?

Are parts available for the brake systems on these trailers? I am thinking about the master cylinder, shoes and brake hardware in particular. What about the wheel bearings and hubs? I am a mechanic so labor isn't a problem. If I can't get parts my skills are useless.

Is there anything in particular I should look for when I am looking at trailers? From the forum the bows and tarps are expensive to replace. I have read stories of locked brakes and bearings. Also the front of the box tends to rust out first. Out here in California rust isn't as big a problem as back east so it shouldn’t be as big a concern. Is there anything else I should look for?

Any help that you can give me is a appreciated. We heat our house with wood and a heavy duty trailer such as a the M101A2 is a welcome addition to my fleet. I want to make as educated a purchase as I can so I can get the trailer to work ASAP.

Thanks,

Bob Elliott

KsM715

All parts are readily available (especially easy if your a member here) and the a2 and a3 will take the same 8lug wheels. The a3 just has more room for HMMWV wheels but it will take a standard 8 lug that the a2 has.

number9