• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New to the M1009

DanzboysM1009

SS Crew-

I'm new to the M1009 and looking at one that has a few issues. My main o=purpose will be a play vehicle for me and my boys, but will have to drive it on the highway from time to time. I understand that the high speed is 55mph as is and I've read a few things about how to help this. My questions is:

Is it better to leave the 3.08 gears in the axles and get a rebuilt 700R4 to get a better highway speed?

I also understand that the radiator is leaking on the one I want to purchase. Is this a special radiator or can I get any replacement for a 6.2 diesel? There's a new one on Ebay for $269.00. I'm a decent wrench and could put it in myself, what are your thoughts?

Thanks in advance for your help and I look forward to asking you more questions and getting more help.

LCDR Dan

Gottlos

Former 95B Ft Sam Houston
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Hello and welcome,

When my M1009 was rock stock I could get it up to about 65 to 70 mph. The major downside was anytime I encountered a hill that mph dropped off something fierce. How are your tires? It is my opinion that the TH400 is a very good/strong transmission, but overdrive is nice.

As you will find all over this site CUCV's have known things to be aware off. Wiring is probably the biggest thing. U-joints, drive shafts, injection pumps, glow plugs.

There are numerous folks on this site that should be classified a CUCV gods.:)

Oldsouthernboy