• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

NEW type of CARC

edpdx

In the middle of painting my M1009 with fresh "383" from Gillespie. I have read that it looks and finishes: "a little lighter than CARC" or"a little shinier than CARC. When I compared the dried "383" to CARC, I do see that the CARC IS both lighter and smoother/shinier. Sooooo... if this is the case why doesn't Gillespie darken "383" a little and flatten it out?

I am NOT a paint expert so these are just lay observations- *not blaming them for making a sub-standard product in the least- glad it's available, in fact. Just wondering in print. I have read that some have tried to flatten it with various degrees of success. Other may have attempted to darken it a bit. Others swear that it is "Good OR close enough". Still if it is not spot-on... why don't they change (read improve) it?

Before you flame me- if you are thinking about it re-read*

edpdx

K-then. Anyone have a tried and true method for flattening the "383" and darkening it as well?

edpdx

I guess its not too late; but since I have already paid for the paint and the HAZ MAT fee... I will use it up. Besides, part of the reason I went with 383 is that I wanted to avoid CARC and all the potential hazards I, as a novice painter with a modest shop, bring into the equation. I have already painted the tailgate and front clip with Gillespie, and it looks great! Even coverage, no runs; but I think there is a bit of sheen in the paint, and it looks a little light compared to the MILSPEC trucks I see at the nearby base.