• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Newbie... help with 809 model types

curtis73

I'm heading into uncharted territory :) I have a lot of customizing experience, particularly with trucks. My buddy (a commercial contractor/civil engineer of sorts) wants an M809 but we have lots of questions. He wants one that is basically a roll-back, so he can use it to transport 20' containers, dumpsters to and from jobsites. I'm not sure what its called, but they're set up so that you can modularly put different components on the back

-Am I correct that they come in three wheelbases? Which one would we need for a 20' components? Basically, at what wheelbase could we put 20' of something behind?
-What 5-speed tranny is in them? I assume its non-synchro. (he's concerned since he's never driven a non-synchro box)
-Am I correct in assuming that the 800-series is summarily better than the 900 due to the braking problems I hear about? Is that just rumor? Would we be better off with a 900?

Sorry for the ramblings of a new guy, but I want to get this guy started in the right direction.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Both series are good trucks. Common sense is all thats required to operate the brakes safely on the 900. You need the truck with the 215 wb to use a 20' bed. The 5 speed is a synchro box so no worries. Its a Spicer 6352 or 6453 (can't recall).

curtis73

Excellent! Thanks for the quick reply. My buddy was under the impression that there was a specific model that already was a modular rollback, is that true? I could only find info on dumps, cargo, bridge, fuel, and crane trucks.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter