• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Newbie here

Caboose

Hi, I just joined but I've been creeping this site for years. I have finally decided to get a Deuce, which I think will be a great work/play vehicle. Anyway, I'm located in Lebanon, MO where I own a small independent auto repair shop. If anyone around here lives somewhere close, I'd love to come look at your MV (M35 in particular lol) and get a rundown in person of some of the ins n outs of these big brutes.

61sleepercab

Welcome to the site. I have a deuce and a 5 ton both. Each has pluses and minuses all their own. Used motor oil brew for fuel... go deuce, like 10 mph faster, power steering, automatic transmission and air brakes go 5 ton. The 5 ton high cab height makes you think you are up in the clouds like the old Ford Louisville trucks.

You could, if you are handy, graft a power steering box from a modern truck on a deuce . We just bought a 1985 salvage Ford LT 8000 cab and chassis with tires and wheels for $200.00 good for a steering box transplant.
I wish you were closer to try out the trucks in person. West Virginia would be a "furr piece" to come for a test drive. Good luck on the hunt. Mark

Caboose

Thanks for the info! I think a 5 ton would be just too big for me. I am planning on going to the 46" Goodyears on MRAP wheels with adapters. Also, my dad has an old Dogde school bus and a Ford F-700 dumptruck, both of which have power steering and both look like they would be pretty easy to adapt. I have a friend who lives in West Virginia, wish I was closer too haha. Appreciate the input a lot Mark.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter