• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Noise in steering.

MitchG

I have a noise in the front end/steering that I need some help with. I hear it usually when I am just getting started and am turning it at low speed in the yard. I hear a relatively loud clunk in the front end. It kinda reminds me of an old Jeep I have that the PO had put rear shackles on the front springs and when I would turn the springs would slide and hit the sides of the shackles. I did a search and the posts I found have me leaning towards the king pin bushings. I don't have any steering wobble or tracking issues and don't hear the noise when i am turning at speed. I also don't have any fluid leaking at the knuckle. Just was wondering where the most prudent place to start checking things out would be? I was kinda trying to avoid tearing into anything unneccessarily. Oh yeah one of the posts mentioned one tire leaning out more than the other, it seems like I have one leaning out as well. It may just be the way I'm looking at it, but I will measure and check for sure.

avengeusa

if you have a tire leaning, check the thing out, kingpins....

it is a big heavy truck, check it all out, everything, you can never be too safe, you could also have a bearing issue.....

FormerNewMVGuy

Might be the rear springs sliding back and forth in the spring perch on the axle, I hear mine at slow sharp turns! There is alot of movement inthe rear tandems during sharp turns.

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Re: RE: Noise in steering.

NewMVGuy said: