• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

NV4500 swap questions

The Baron

So I have beenseriously considering swapping out my TH400 for NV4500 in my 1984 M1009. To bequite honest I'm a novice mechanic (luckily the M1009 is easy to work on andthe TM manuals are idiot proof) and I was wondering how difficult would it beto do? Is it a simple matter of bolting it on and installing a clutch or arethere other modifications I would have to make and other difficulties? Would a sm465 be easier to install? Also isthere anything I should look for in a NV4500 when purchasing it?

cliffyp

A few things to consider:

With 3.08 gears in the 1009 having an overdrive is nearly useless. An NV4500 is a lot of expense and work to get something that you only half way get a benefit from, deeper first being the benefit.

If you don't plan on changing the gears in your axles, but you want to do a manual trans, you might as well go with an SM465. It's going to be much cheaper to acquire, no more work than NV4500, deeper low end. Your 3.08 gears are already your overdrive.

If you were going to swap in 3.73 or 4.10 gears, then an NV4500 starts to make some good sense.

The Baron

Since the SM465 doesn't have the over drive would it still improve my mpg and top speed? Assuming I keep the 3.08 gearing. Also will it hook right up to the stock T-case?

Last edited:

cliffyp

Top end would be basically the same as TH400 maybe a little better because you won't have any converter slippage.