• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Old Family Military Radio Hams in Puget Sound Area

Storm 51

Just a Grunt
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I'm fairly new to SS and I was wondering if there are any Hams in the Puget Sound area (Washington State) who are knowledgeable or interested in the Old Family green radios?

I have a mixed bunch of radio gear that I would like to put together into the GRC-3, -5 & -7 family for my M-42 and trade, sell or give away the stuff I don't need. Problem is that while I am a general class Ham, I am not very experienced (as in totally ignorant) regarding military radios.

So far every contact I've tried to make is on the east coast or at least east of the Mississippi, which makes getting together a bit more difficult.

If there is anybody closer to Puget Sound who is willing to talk or meet, please PM me.

Thanks!

Storm 51

SCSG-G4

PSVB 3003
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Have you looked in the boatanchor archives, or the Yahoo and delphi forums for the army radio groups? This site is more focused on the vehicles, the other sites are more focused on the radios. You might get a better match (answer) on them. There are those of us who are on all of the forums, but the ones you really need might not be here.2cents

Storm 51

Just a Grunt
Steel Soldiers Supporter
No, Mike, I haven't. I didn't even know they existed. What is Delphi? Can I get to the boat anchor archives just by goggling them?

Thanks for the pointers!

Storm 51

deuceaid

Banned
There is a guy down here near salton sea that seems to be green radio only, he always does a nice display at the bigger hamfests down here,,, last month I talked with his wife, and got his card, I will have to look for it if You want more info......... Good luck.Jason