• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

please help troubleshoot my temp daily driver

hfmt93

I bought my m1009 a little over a month ago. I love it. I drive it 45 miles to work on nice days.

I am a civilian aircraft mechanic so have a good mechanical knowledge but nothing about diesels.

I hit a deer in my real daily driver and the cucv is how I am getting to work for a few weeks. I need this truck to work. I need your help.

It has 2 problems:

1/ Since I bought it the drivers (normal, 12v side alt) alternator has not worked. The previous owner had both alt rebuilt. I have a good battery, bench checked the alt, looked over the wires (just looked, not torn into harnesses). I can't find anything.

The Gen 1 dummy light will come on when you turn the key to run, I will start it, notice the ammeter is not doing what it is supposed to, turn it off, and when I turn the key to run the Gen 1 light is now off. If I get out and disconnect/reconnect the Gen 1 wire that goes into the alt, the process starts over. I do not even know where to look for this.

Also, the pass (one that is supposed to charge both batteries) does not charge both. If I burn the headlights to work I will have to jump it on the way home. This has been a small annoyance as a drive whenever vehicle but now it has to be driven for a few weeks.