• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Possible plastic FMTV door handle replacement

sargentwolf

Complained to my best friend about the broken latch on my truck. And the cost of a new one....nearly 300.... His eyes lit up when I mentioned that they dont sell the handle separate from the assembly.

He is a movie prop & resin part maker by trade.

He wants to take a try at building a replacement plastic handle for the LMTV trucks. Better then factory one, aluminum reinforced resin with fiberglass filler.

No promises, but hes going to prototype on my rig then see if its something that can be done.

Have one question that would help make this easier on us: is the plastic latch held in place via riveting or bolted? See the pic for what we are wondering about. If anyone has one lying around and can send a pic of the attachment pin...thing... it would be amazing.
Thanks!

door latch.jpg

sargentwolf

The handle is made of cast Alumium. Further, it is riveted to the metal latch parts. He can make the handles, but it would require drilling out the rivets and bolting the resin piece to the metal pieces. Mods, go ahead and delete this.

coachgeo

Where do they typically break?: (assuming the rivets thru the chrome handles arms and Black arms from plate is a pivot point)
. Is it the Rivets that break?
. Is it the Chrome "Pull"/handle portion, breaks off of leaving what appears from pic to be the Pull's pivot arms still attached to rivets
. Or is it the Black arms of the Case that the Pull's pivot arms are riveted thru that break?

Sounds like from your description that the thought is the Pull breaks off from its arms??

Last edited:

sargentwolf