• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Question for those in GA with a Deuce

TechMav

First off, I've always loved old hardware. The wife is as odd as I am, and has given the OK to look into getting a Deuce. I'm a mechanic (ASE certified), so I can handle most of the maintenance myself. I'm just outside the Atlanta area, to the east.
My questions are:
Since a Deuce technically qualifies as a 'commercial' truck, has anyone had a problem with parking it in the driveway? I do live in an area with an HOA (Yeah, yeah, I know, sucks for me), which the only rule other than what the county has is fences must be wooden. I've been through the regulations and bylaws, and nothing about large trucks to be found. However, state regulations for 'commercial' trucks are "Must park in the garage or behind the house" unless it's a daily driver. I don't want to buy one, only to find I have to house it at a storage lot.

As for insurance, would I be better off getting a commercial truck policy (I'm with Geico currently) or a specialty policy with a seperate company? I've seen several companies mentioned, but haven't had a chance to contact them yet.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Sephirothq

It also depends on what you want to do with your truck, if you will be doing commercial for hire work then the above post doesn't apply. If you are going to have it for yourself, maybe even tagged antique, you should be able to have it.
I can't speak for other states though.

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
I live near Athens, 30666.