• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

removing hubs on m135 face loads

lookinforstuff

m211,im new to the gm 2.5 ton axle, and currently workin on tryin to replace the axle seals, and goin thru the brakes, where im stuck at is how to pull the hole hub off, so any help and anything i should would be appreciated, thanks

Last edited:

badgmc56

Hello, Welcome to the site. The TM9-1819AC manual covers the whole process. If you want to PM me I will scan it for you and send it. It is a very good idea to get the manuals for these trucks because they are unique in certain areas. The manuals cover everything from removing an engine to installing the cab top.

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
1. Take off the wheel. 2. Remove the flange nuts. 3. Beat on the end of the axle with a big hammer until the little drive cones come loose. 4. Remove them using a screwdriver to split them open a bit. 5. Pull axle shaft or flange out. 6. Oil runs on floor. 7. Unscrew the wheel bearing nuts with the proper wrench or a chisel. 8. Remove hub. 9. Remove brake shoes. 10. Remove 2 wheel cylinders and discard, they are pitted and not rebuildable 99% of the time. 11. Clean everything using varsol. 12. Install new wheel cylinders from Niagara Military Parts or other vendor 13. Repack bearings and reinstall in hub using new seals. 14. Reassemble everything. Takes about 2 hours per wheel end. If you are rebuilding the entire brake system, use DOT 5 silicone fluid, and your hyd system will last at least 25 years, it has in my M135.

nattieleather

Try a bigger hammer like a 20 lbs sledge. I'm not kidding...there are tapered cones that wedge the thing on and the sledge will "bounce" the axle flange loose.

butch atkins