• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Rust Report

Vhyle

Yup... I went out earlier tonight and snapped pics of the bad rust infestations on my CUCV. I'm not entirely sure of this particular truck's history, but I'm guessing it migrated from the north. I intend on repairing these the best I can (I'm a metalworker/welder by trade), but my areas of concern are anything that involves the exterior where there is Rhino lining. Some of this looks pretty bad.

Sorry about the blur in a few of these - it gets pretty dark in my driveway. I'll get better pics in the daytime, if I get the time to do it.

pass_door_640.jpg
About a 3-4 inch section on the front of the passenger side door. Looks like surface rust. Not sure what happened to the bit of Rhino that was there. Makes me wonder if it looks like this underneath the rest of it...

rf_wheel_well_640.jpg
RF wheel well. Easily repairable.

rr_rocker_640.jpg
Inside the right side of the body, in front of the RR wheel.

rr_corner_640.jpg
Underneath the right rear section of the back. These spots look to be the worst. Side note: not sure why the PO decided to un-do the BO lights. I intend on getting them functional again.

lr_corner_640.jpg
Underneath left rear corner of the back. Ugly!

lr_rocker_640.jpg
Inside the left side, in front of the LR wheel.

lr_rocker_underneath_640.jpg
Another angle of the the left side, from the other end, looking at the LR wheel.

lf_wheel_well_640.jpg
LF wheel well - note the patch job. Probably identical to the RF (sorry about the haze; just a little cig smoke)

filler_neck_tunnel_640.jpg
Filler neck tunnel - no big deal. I can just find another one if need be, and paint it black (or even re-Rhino it if I felt so inclined).

top_left_tailgate_640.jpg