• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Seals and Snow

USDragoon

Here’s the story

I’m not a mechanic. I know how things work, in general. I have logged possibly over 100,000 miles in M35 series trucks. I used to be a repair parts clerk when I first went in the Army back when the clerks were assigned to line units, so I was able to get my hands greasy once in a while helping the mechanics. I ended my time as a Tanker in the M1A2.

Here’s the problem;

I did some checking on my truck and I noticed the rear axle hub, drivers side is leaking to the point where there was fluid building up on the tire rim.

My mechanic said I need to pull off the hub and put some sort of new gasket on it. Should I be concerned about replacing seals and bearings as well? If so, could someone send me an email of the stock numbers I need, and line me up with a supply house?
Fortunately, my mechanic offered the use of his shop and tools in exchange for beer.
My truck is a 1971 M35A2 W/W.

Here’s the second issue- winterization

I live way up in the mountains at 9200 feet. We get winter weather as if we were in Alaska. The day time temps can be as low as -35f. My truck is equipped with an ether start switch in the cab, and the connections are under the hood.- no ether bottle. I saw somewhere on this site that there was some sort of issue with getting the proper bottle. Has anyone been able to get the right bottle and where from?

Also, Should I get a block heater or a radiator heater? (can’t recall what the radiator heater thingy is called) I priced a block heater for the Hercules Engine that cost’s less than $40.00 from Napa.