• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Signal lights, hazard and brake lights don’t work

Unimog66

Hi
just bought a 1996 m1084, the signal , hazard and brake lights don’t work, can anyone give me tips on where to check, they worked the first day but don’t work now. i am new to these trucks and don’t know a lot about them. Maybe someone has a little video on the 3 levers where to position them
thanks

GeneralDisorder

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Military trucks in general start out in light discipline mode by default where nothing works till you select either service drive or park. Once you turn on the headlights all the other systems will function. With the headlights switch in "off" NOTHING in the lighting system will function.

Ronmar

Yep, select service drive, by raising the short lock lever to allow you to rotate the top lever to the service drive position. You also do not have any brake lights until you do this…

hike

—realizing each day
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome!

Here on the forum you will likely find what you need for this and other issues that may arise. First you may want to look in the TM section:
Forums/Technical Manuals/FMTV>

While not a TM for the M1084, the M1083 (and other A0 FMTV's) have a similar light switch. The TM_9-2320-366-10-X are operator manuals. If you look at TM_9-2320-366-10-1 the last entry in the contents may assist you.

IMG_3728.jpeg

Others here will be able to help much more.

Does your unit have the material handling crane?

hike

—realizing each day
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Have you checked the flasher relay (PDP) and the brake light switch (pedal)? Schematics are at the back of certain TM's—

Ronmar