• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Steel vs. Fiberglass hardtops?

Ridgerunner

As of now my Deuce has the canvas cab cover top (it's tan and my Deuce is green :cry:) So I'm in the market for a hardtop to replace the canvas cover. I'm new to the hobby, so I've never personally seen either one up close. What are the pros and cons of steel vs. fiberglass tops? Which one do you prefer and why?

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
The gov't never bought fiberglass tops that I am aware of. The steel tops for Deuces are inevitably bent from people walking on them, or rusted. New ones are hard to come by and when you find them they are upwards of $600. Be careful buying these, the tops made for the 900 series 5 ton trucks are wider, but the stupid manufacturer, Landmark, put the same data plate on them as the 2 1/2 ton top, so people get them confused.

Once you attach the top, it a an ordeal to take it off, so your days of topless, windshield down driving will most likely be over.

ida34

Ridge,
You might drop a PM to TedG. I think he has an NOS hard top kit I am not sure but I think he can beat the $600 figure above. He is located in Eaton Rapids just south of Lansing so if you can pick it up you could save quite a bit on shipping.

Like stated above, steel tops are the only thing the military used. The fiberglass ones are aftermarket. I can't say much about the fiberglass ones as I have never used one but some have pointed out that the fiberglass is less durable when hit with something. I doubt you would find someone changing a steel top for a fiberglass. The fiberglass tops I have seen have bump outs on top to mount clearance lights which makes them not look correct for a military restoration.

Last edited:

oifvet

Steel Soldiers Supporter