• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Time for Singles?

frankentruck

I have been working on my deuce for several months now. Much of what I've done has been brake work. First, I replaced the master cylinder. Then a wheel cylinder blew out, so I replaced that. Next, I put on a new air pack. That caused another wheel cylinder to go, so now I am at the point of replacing all the wheel cylinders.

I have been thinking of putting singles on in the back, but I put it off because it seems like a big job. Now that I have to pull all the wheels anyway for brake work, it may be the right time to switch to singles. I found the hub flip diagram on this site, but no instructions. Any ideas?

Also, it is necessary to flip the hubs? It seems I could put the wheels on without flipping. I know they will be out of line with the front wheels, but is that a big problem? Another thought is to add some kind of plate to the wheel to extend the wheel out and bring it in line.

Finally, what exactly are super singles? Are they a special wheel and tire size? Could I just reverse the dual wheel and use that? My truck came with six additional wheels and tires, but I don't know if they are super singles or not.

I hope to get started on this next weekend, so any ideas, suggestions, or warnings would be much appreciated.

Thanks, all.

Steven

Alredneck

Banned
Yea buddy, its a big job alright big rubber that is!!! Check out my thread on "APoc ready to plunder and pilage" in the deuce mod & hotrod forum it will answer alot of questions about keeping it simple. Still no problems with mine. Have fun you will enjoy it, it a whole new beast with big rubber!! Captain

frankentruck