• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Transfer Case woes...

airmech3839

Well I have been nursing a transfer case leak for a couple of months and filling the fluid regularly and then it started making some noise. I have tried to look in through the fill hole but could not see anything. Well while driving home and accelerating up a hill the Hi-Lo handle pops out.... and all drive ceases. She was in netural... So I costed to the side. left her running and hopped out and made sure that she had not come apart. Looks like no holes or massive fluid leaks. so I climb back in and try to re-engage the hi. It seemed to be not wanting to stay up. I was able to get it to work by holding it up physically by hand. I only had about 2 miles to the house so I put hazards on and pulled away and shifted cautiously with my left hand. I got it home and have yet to go out to the truck. The handle stayed in the Hi position after I got her parked. I may be looking at a new transfer case. Am I right?

Tracy

airmech3839

I am trying to get a guy here in town to quote me a replacement and or rebuild. I have seen them average for about $300.... just gotta get the cash and the trasmission jack and some spare time! and a buddy or three!! some strong backs and weak minds if you follow me!!:D

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
http://www.steelsoldiers.com/deuce/20809-transfer-case-jumping-out.html

http://www.steelsoldiers.com/deuce/55553-diagnosing-bad-transfer-case.html (see post #7)

http://www.steelsoldiers.com/deuce/5059-air-shift-transfer-case-rebuild-related-questions.html