• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Transmission problem- will not drive...

camdensc

I picked up my 1986 M1008 from Fort Jackson this week, and after some help and advice from several of the members, I was able to get it started. Thank you!.

I tried to go for a test drive, but when I shift to Drive, the engine just revs. I tried shifting to the low gear, in-and-out of drive, etc. but no luck. I moved the shifter on the transfer case from 2wd to N to 4wd, but that did not help either. I even moved the hubs between lock and free.

I have no transmission experience. Any suggestions on how I can troubleshoot for the cause of the problem?

Thank you.

mangus580

Have you tried the transfer case in low range?

Crazy stupid question... but you DO have driveshafts, right? rofl

Have you checked the fluid level in the tranny? (remember... its supposed to be checked hot, and while running)

Wolf.Dose

Hey,
did you check the trans oil level? The Army has to drain the due to the environment policy. However, you have to check the fitting of the trans oil pan. If not fixed propperly, you need a 10 mm nut to fix the bolts to the propper torque. Check the presance of the coark seal. If missing your truck is an oil spray can. Check the oil pan of the trans for any drilled hole, for this is the most easy way to drain the trans! So far the distance diagnoses with 200000 miles on a M1009 with the same trans. Is there some oil in the tranfer? Did you check the propper engine oil level? The engine still runs with only 2 liters of oil in the pan, however you have a dry dip stic!
Wolf

camdensc