• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

transmission question

Wyattearp

Okay fellas, i have everything loose to drop the tranny except one thing and im not sure if i need remove it or not but does the shift lever come off either by a pin holding it in or by another method.... Im still learning about this truck as i get deeper in grease LOL...
I think the spicer uses the ball set up on top, am i correct, and im guessing there is a pin to remove it.

:banghead: its the small stuff that will drive a man whacky.

jasonjc

Yes there is a bolt at the bottom of the shaft you should be able to see it if you take the tran tunnel cover off. That also lets you get to a lot of the bolts easy.
jason

Wyattearp

Jason I appreciate it, as im still learning about this vehicle and its parts, I did see a pin but well i figured i would ask before i assumed and made an A$$ out of myself by breaking something, I have the cover off all the way to the firewall so easy access.

Thanks

Wyattearp

just got back in due to darkness, after further inspection and pulling the shifter boot up further revealed nut and bold, shifter is off....

Wyattearp

After further inspection of dropping the tranny, i have decided to pull engine and tranny as one that way i can get at the tranny for new fluid and maintenance if need be.

Would it make better since to remove the winch from the front first as to give more room? I believe my winch is shot anyways on the clutch (in/out) side when putting in gear oil it leaked out on the bottom of the cylinder and onto the ground i don't think thats normal.

Any words of wisdom from the OD crew?

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter