• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Troubleshooting a MEP-005A

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I sold my MEP-005A 120/240 60Hz to a friend. It was working fine and now won't excite.

The engine starts and runs fine. I hold the start switch up to excite the windings. The Hetrz gauge swings to 60, and then drops to zero.

Any pointers on where to start looking. I have the manuals and will start reading.

I have never worked on the electronics before. Engines yes, electronics no.

Warthog

Crash_AF

After it drops to 0, have you tried re-engaging the switch to reflash the field? The starter shouldn't engage because the engine is running, but the field flash circuit should reflash the field.

Later,
Joe

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Just checked the unit. Upon startup the Hz gauge is zero (below 48 on the gauge). The Voltage gauge is zero. My volt meter shows zero on the convenence plug. The throttle is wide open. ~1800rpm

I hold up the start switch and the Hz swings to 62 then settles at 60. Voltage gauge show 75v. The convenence plug is showing 6-7v.

I release the start switch and the Hz swing to 62, then back to zero. The Voltage gauge drops to zero.

I even flipped the Battle Short and nothing changed.

Last edited:

Crash_AF

Battle Short just overrides the protective devices on the engine, it does nothing on the voltage side.

It's been 6 years since I touched a MEP-005, I'll check a couple of things and get back to you. This is a common enough problem with MEPs that haven't been used regularly... I'm just trying to kick the cobwebs off the memory banks... LOL I'm thinking you might need to manually flash the field, but I want to read over the TM again to make sure.

Later,
Joe

Warthog