• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Turbo or no Turbo

Billy Bobbed

I want to install a pyrometer ,would you drill with or without tubo on.Need to know if its worth the risk if the tubo is on.Is there going to be a lot of shavings geting in the turbo.

DieselBob

I never have pulled a turbo when drilling manifold. I'm no expert but I have stayed at a Holiday Inn Select :-D I have done 6~7 different installs on different vehicles. Almost all of the shavings will feed out the bit. You can put some grease on the bit if you want, to help any chips from going in the manifold. Remember you are on the hot side so anything that does fall in the manifold/turbo will blow out the exhaust as soon as you start the engine. Just my 2cents

m16ty

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I've heard of people drilling and tapping with the engine running to keep the shavings blown out. I wonder how easy that would be though due to the fumes and the heat.

rchalmers3

Half a mile from the Broad River
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I've heard of people drilling and tapping with the engine running to keep the shavings blown out. I wonder how easy that would be though due to the fumes and the heat.
And vibration. Maybe not for the pilot hole, but for the larger tap drill?

Rick

bgekky3

It takes only a few minutes to drop the turbo. You do not have to take it all the way out. Just drop it down and put a piece of cardboard over the hole when you drill the hole. Then clean it out and put it back together. A few minutes of my time is not worth the risk to me.

OPCOM

Steel Soldiers Supporter
It's been done, but the big question is: