• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

What headsets were used in the lmtv/fmtv radio trucks ?

chucky

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Was wondering what would be era correct headset were used in the lmtv/ fmtv radio trucks if anyone is familiar with that and the name or model of radios used in them ? Thanks

sigo

Lieutenant Colonel
Steel Soldiers Supporter
A SINCGARS in VRC-88/89/90/91/92 configuration would be correct.
A H-250 handset is appropriate for use with SINCGARS. I’ve been working on Army radios since 1996 and I have not seen a M80/u mic in servIce. There are some out there and It will work, but it is not widely used.

chucky

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Sincgars sets would have used microphone M80/U and loudspeaker LS-671.
Thanks !!! Some where i swore i saw a soldier wearing a headset in the drivers seat and the turret gunner wearing one.

sigo

Lieutenant Colonel
Steel Soldiers Supporter
It is possible, in which case it is probable they had a VIC-3 intercom system in their truck. A number of headsets can be used with a VIC-3, Bose Triports are common.

chucky

Steel Soldiers Supporter
It is possible, in which case it is probable they had a VIC-3 intercom system in their truck. A number of headsets can be used with a VIC-3, Bose Triports are common.
Thanks for the info

papakb

My personal favorites are the General Dynamics single earpiece models that have been sold onlins. They meet states requirement of not covering both ears , are comfortable to wear for long periods and are actually made by David Clark.

Attachments

chucky

Steel Soldiers Supporter