• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

XM-816 pto issue

Bigfry78

I wish I had found this forum two years ago. It's awesome. I have a question that I hope somebody finds simple.

I am a crane operator by trade, local 627. I bought a 1970 refurbished in 89 xm-816 crane bed, no truck. I will shortly find the appropriate place and post pics and progress. I mounted the 17000 lb bed on a C-65 I already had. I am very close to testing, but I have to get the proper pto. I read the TM for it, and it said 4th gear so 1:1 ratio at the tranny and 1200-1250 engine rpm. My question is, on the 5 ton these are normally mounted on, does the pto itself have and reduction or overdrive? I can't find that info anywhere. If I am right it is 1:1 but that will be a costly mistake if I am wrong. I can get a pto with reduction, 1:1 etc, I just need to make sure tranny is the normal 1:1 and if the pto itself is 1:1. I will add gearing if necessary for the 45000 lb winch to have a appropriate amount of torque.

Thanks very much for any help.

Last edited:

73m819

Rock = older than dirt , GA. MAFIA , Dirty
Steel Soldiers Supporter
In Memorial
The out put is 1 to 1, the pto thay are talking about is the TRANSFER case pto, this is a direct output 1 to 1 for what ever comes from the trans, so 1200 rpm is the pto output rpm.

to drive the rear winch you need a heaver pto than a trans pto, the transfer case one is built for this load

timntrucks

Steel Soldiers Supporter
yes it goes thru a very large diverter that splits up between the crane and the rear winch. do you have that part? there is a m816 being scrapped out in miss now. so you might can get some parts from him csm davis has that one. send us some pics toonopics

Bigfry78