• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

1986 M1008 - Electrical Help - Acts like service lights off

Greetings,
I am new to the CUCV family! I just bought the M1008 about a month ago. I love the truck!! It takes me any where I want to go!

I recently had a problem with the right rear blinker burning out. I did a quick replacement from what I had in stock/inventory, and went on my way. I honestly did not look to see if both filaments were in the bulb... so the turn signal wasn't working but the brake was. I unbolted the lens, replaced the bulb and started her up and checked all the lights. They all seemed to work except the rear/backup lights. So I looked underneath and saw what looked like an electrical connection was undone. So I connected it backup, started the truck and had my wife sit in the truck with the brake on and put it in reverse. All the lights failed to light up. It was acting just like the service lights were off but the toggle switch was still in the upright position. So I flipped the switch down and back up again and still no lights. For some reason I tried the horn as well, and it wasn't working either.

I did pull a few fuses, and they looked clean... like the horn... so I dont know how I lost that too.

** EDIT **
The Engine starts as normal, the wipers work, and the heater works as well. Just the lights and the horn have quit functioning.

** End EDIT **

I am in a bit of a pickle needing to get this truck ready for a trip down to Houston (hurricane Ike aftermath) to help with some cleanup. The truck has an external tank for 50 gallons of gas, and it has a lift gate... things you want for cleanup work!!