• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

35kw GET HDT global generator help request

RYANAAR

I Need Help Diagnosing Non-Start Issues with Powersystems International Model 2003850 35kw Generator GET HDT global John Deere 3cyl turbo diesel engine

I have been using this GET for the past five years cooling my shop with the AC unit on the trailer. I have changed the filters and oil on a regular basis and it only has 1100 hours on the unit.

Here's what happened: The generator initially started up last week but abruptly died without any load. The indicator light displayed "over speed." Now, whenever I turn the start switch to ON, the 15-amp circuit breaker immediately trips.

I've already attempted a few troubleshooting steps, but I'm unable to pinpoint the exact cause of the problem. I would greatly appreciate any insights or suggestions you can provide to help me resolve this issue. Here's what I've done so far:

1. Checked the fuel level: Ensured that the generator has an adequate supply of fuel.
  2. Verified the oil level: Ensured that the oil level is sufficient.
  3. Verified the engine turns when jumping the starter relay by hand.
  4. Pressed the reset button on the governor speed control unit.
  5. Verified the batteries : Ensured that the batteries are fully charged and properly connected.
  6. Examined the wiring: Checked for loose, damaged, or frayed wires and made sure all connections are secure.
  7. Checked all of fuses and relays
  8. Traced the issue to wire 9 from the on/start switch. With this wire removed from the switch the 15am circuit breaker won’t trip and the engine will turn over but not start
  9. The number 9 wire is attached to a wire terminal block with many other wires.