• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

4 wheel drive not engaging

SmokeyBobber

soo i have a 1970 m35a2 with 46s on it. i was wheeling it the other day in 4wheel drive in 2nd gear and no problems until i disengaged it then reengaged the 4 wheel drive and it would not engage. The front driveshaft is spinning though. On another note i have no brakes but i havnt had brakes for a couple weeks now. i got a new master cylinder and still need to install it. i dont know if this anything to do with it. Plzzzzz HELP!

my number is 609-668-2847(dan) if anyone can help

BugEyeBear

you have been driving with no brakes....... come on man 14k and no brakes.... not a good idea...
:ditto:

I can almost understand someone "limping home" a short distance with a brake system that has just recently failed.

But I can't understand why anyone would knowingly go out driving or "wheeling" with no brakes! :cookoo:

Your life, and the lives of those in your path are more valuable than your right to go play with an unsafe vehicle! I can only hope that you only injure yourself when something unexpected happens & you can't stop your truck!

I guess Darwin was right!

"Here's Your Sign!"

stumps

My bobcat never had brakes from the day it was made. My farm tractor's and backhoe's brakes have always been more of a suggestion than a reality... they work as long as you don't -really- need to stop, and aren't going down hill. If you are out in the middle of nowhere, running in a really low gear, and there is nothing to hit, brakes aren't all that necessary.

-Chuck

stumps

That's a lot of "IF"s.....
Of course, and they had all better be true IF you are going to run around without brakes!