• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

4a84a standard military engine no oil pressure Help

Dwnorton1

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I have drained oil dropped pan and cleaned check valve
opened and cleaned oil pump and verified tolerances.
Cleaned oil pressure regulator
blew out hoses.
Used air to blow oil back into pump thinking it might help with prime
everything appears normal except it will to pump oil.

What at am I missing?

glcaines

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I have no experience with this engine, but have the following general suggestions.
1. Are you sure the intake to the pump isn't leaking and pulling in air?
2. Have you verified that the oil pump is actually turning?
3. How do you know that there isn't any oil pressure? Are you relying on a pressure gauge on the engine? If so, I would test the oil pressure with an external test gauge. It's possible the pressure sensor and/or gauge itself is faulty.
Good luck.

Dwnorton1

Steel Soldiers Supporter
After tearing one of these apart and lookng at is oil system and not finding anything visibly wrong I was indeed perplexed. Oil pump is at rear of engine with a gallery down into the block to a check valve in the pan. If camshaft is turn and keyway is not damage oil pump will turn. I cleaned everything up put back together, my thought was check valve was not holding. Left oil line off to filter so I could see immediately if was pumping. Even primed the pump by forcing oil down line with squeeze bottle. Confident that I had isolated problems, I tried to run it again. Other than oil I primed it still didn't pick up.

So so I gave up on the 1969 model ( like me ). Nostalgia is why I want this gen set to run. Hokey I know.