• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

84 lost power last night And now won't stay running

jeffro589

Ok so last night on my home I noticed a lack of power. I made it home ok but it was running rough. This morning started it up it was running a little rough but drove ok at first I was also getting whit smoke out the tailpipes. Made it about 15 miles had total loss of power couldn't make it over 25mph. So I pulled over let it cool down now it won't stay running also water in fuel light has been on for 3 days ( since I got the truck) I'm getting towed to work right now. I'm also an ass certified master tech In LD cars and trucks just not diesel so if I ask any stupid questions I apologize in advance. Thanks for the help

Also if I can keep it running on starting fluid so I am assuming a fuel issue just not very familiar with diesels

jdemaris

it won't stay running also water in fuel light has been on for 3 days
Water-in-fuel-light comes on when the filter is plugged, even if there is NO water present. I'm kind of wondering why you didn't change the filter when you saw the light on? Or, at least, purge the filter housing to make sure there was no water in there.

I carry spare fuel filters in all my diesels. It can save a lot of headaches when you're in the middle of nowhere and that light starts to blink on and off.

nk14zp

Water-in-fuel-light comes on when the filter is plugged, even if there is NO water present. I'm kind of wondering why you didn't change the filter when you saw the light on? Or, at least, purge the filter housing to make sure there was no water in there.

I carry spare fuel filters in all my diesels. It can save a lot of headaches when you're in the middle of nowhere and that light starts to blink on and off.