• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

A generator issue, 60 amp aluminum strap and black thick wire

RealtorB

I purchased a 1987 M998 HMMWV there was no generator on it I purchased a 60 amp generator and there are two things on the front there is a aluminum strap and a black thick cable with a red cap on the end where it bolts onto something and I do not know where they go on the generator does anyone have any help for me or any answers thank you in Advance

RealtorB

Ifif you click on my profile you will see a picture of what I'm talking about I'm a newbie sorry about the confusion I'm trying to learn how to maneuver around on the website

Action

the big bare flat wire is for the ground. it goes from the generator to the engine block or manifold bolt or water crossover bolt. Not sure on your application.

RealtorB

I know that the one with the red cap goes to the batteries, and the other one goes towards the rear , seems like there is something I am missing, I don't know alot about these 24 volt systems

RealtorB

I just don't know if I should trust the codes on these things there and some of them are color-coded or anything like that I have a feeling that the red one with the Is hot

juanprado

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I think you have the 100 or 200 amp set up not the 60 amp. Those 2 wires look they go the "upgraded" Niehoff alt.

Did the 60 amp mount up ok? I do not know if they are backwards compatible?

RealtorB