• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Air bubbles. And hard starting

DEUCEBIGALOW

After I shut off the truck I can see air bubbles running through the fuel lines and then the truck is hard starting. Any ideas would be great. I'm new to the MV but not new to diesels. But I don't know where to start.

DEUCEBIGALOW

The only way I can get mine to start is to stick it on the floor. And it takes several several cranks prob 30 secs at least. The only time it starts rite up is prob 5 secs after I shut it off.

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
Turn on the trucks power and see if fuel comes out of the bleeder on your secondary fuel filter bleeder. Sounds to me like your in-tank pump isn't working.

DEUCEBIGALOW

In tank pump works good. You can hear it running and you can turn it on and watch the air bubbles run away. I dunno. Can u guys start yours without giving it fuel. I have to floor mine unless I just shut it off 5 secs ago.

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
Mine is rough to start if it has sat overnight, but I run alternate fuels. If it has run at all within a day, she fires right up.

DEUCEBIGALOW

As I type this i have it idled up and the rear filter has the line going to the injection pump and about every 7 secs a group of bubbles gp from the back line on that rear filter to the IP and that's obviously when it runs a Lil ruff then runs good till the next batch of air comes.

Floridianson

Steel Soldiers Supporter
With just the intank running if there was a leak in the delivery system it should show it's self so check all connectors from tank to IP. The intank pump rubber hose has been knowen to go bad and removal and replacing line is the fix.