• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Air Cooled Generators

Boonies

I have been using an MEP-002A for off-grid backup for 8 years now. I have been inquiring about modern generators just for comparison. I will call a dealer or manufacture and describe the 002A to them and ask if they have anything that would be a good replacement. The thing that gets mentioned more than anything else is that nobody has anything air cooled. One guy told me “An air cooled engine running all the time will have half the life of a liquid cooled unit and will wear quickly”. Is that true? Any comments? I have heard that the 002A was designed to run 24/7 in extreme climates. Is the true?

Light in the Dark

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I don't know if there is truth to that, but being that air cooled is older technology... the thinking could be that with manufacturing practices advancing greatly since 'air cooled' was the mainstay, that naturally the equipment should last longer. But a properly designed air cooled system should regulate the engine temperature in a similar fashion to its liquid cooled counterparts... only with less systems to maintain.

Yes the military fielded the 00x series to be used anywhere Uncle Sam felt like playing target practice... so a well designed machine, kept after... should just run.

nextalcupfan

I believe what they are thinking of is most if not all air cooled generators are 3600 RPM.
I'm 99% sure the 002 and 003 are 1800 RPM machines.

I've only seen 2 real complaints on the 002 and 003.
1. They are much louder than the 802 and 803.
2. When they sit for a long time a plunger in the injection pump goes bad, then when you try and crank it the guide breaks and you need to rebuild the pump.