• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

AN/GRC-46 Shelter and Radio Restoration

Mayor Joe

I found an AN/GRC-46 shelter in great condition and a nearly complete radio set to put in it. The shelter appears never to have had anything mounted inside. I found the manuals and some other details from various sites, but I thought I'd enlist the help of some pros. I'm not a radio pro by an means.

The missing components are the R392/URR Receiver (saw the post where someone was ripped off trying to buy one), the TT-98 Teletypewriter and the TT-76 Reperforator.

Any info regarding specifications on the mounting supports, AN/GRC-46B Heater, Fan, Clock, Seat, etc. would be helpful.

I have a great truck to put it in and would like to make it as complete as possible.

Thanks.

Aswayze

I did a good bit of hunting around at RTTY stuff a few years back trying to get a practical WD-1a system up and running to no particular avail.

In the process however, I did happen across a TT-76 reperforator up at Shade Tree Recycling over in Passiac Missouri. It was in sort of sad shape, but I suspect it could be restored to LOOK good easily enough. He also had an entire GRC-46 shelter that had been fire damaged sitting there so I suspect that there's mounts and stuff kicking around there as well if a fella knew what all to look for.

maccus

Super Moderator
Super Moderator