• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Another CDL question..m275

HELLRIDER

Hi, everyone! I just purchased an m275 with two axle command trailer. Do I need a CDL to drive this truck, with the trailer empty? From the information I got, the tractor data plate say's 12000 lbs. The owner listed the trailer weight to be 1310.....I am guessing 13,100 lbs. It is in Ohio, going to Connecticut. I do have a friend with a CDL, and i'm trying to schedule the trip, so he can go. Also...any thoughts on using a dealer plate? I am a truck mechanic, and I have all the tools and equipment that I need. I also have spare parts for a deuce to bring. Any thoughts, would be appreciated. Thanks!

Attachments

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
Ultimate rally camper!

Ferroequinologist

Resident railroad expert
Steel Soldiers Supporter
What are your home state's laws? Is that an air over hydraulic trailer or just straight air? Some states require some form of higher licensing if a vehicle is x length, or a combination vehicle (such as a fifthwheel trailer setup)

I sure wish the states and Feds would make everything the same everywhere. Would really cut down on these CDL threads!

Hope that m275 has a turboed engine. Nice rig!

spicergear

It should be something like this: under 26,000 and no straight air brakes- NO CDL required. 26,001 and up CDL for weight, straight air brakes and you need an air brake endorsement.

PA now has anything over 10,001 lbs gross vehicle weight for trailers needs CDL. Hence the reason you see so many 9,990lbs gross trailers.