• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Assessing tire condition- NDT bias tires

Ajax MD

I tried searching this but came up empty.

I'm not an expert on bias tires with tubes and I'm still learning about their peculiarities. Visually, how much checking (cracking) is acceptable before you decide that a tire is unsafe?

Bear in mind that I don't haul commercially and my truck is normally unloaded. I haul a few tons of pellets once a year. My tires all have plenty of tread but they're all of various ages.

Ajax MD

The 8 on the rear can be ho hum but your steer tires need to be exceptional. The military tires are special OZ rubber that can last decades, as opposed to the commercial tires uncle started using recently. Well not exactly recently, 20 years ago.
Thanks for that. My steering tires are the best in the group.

juanprado

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I had 2 deeply cracked tires on a trailer from the 60's with half worn tread and I suspect the tires were original. I was concerned as I had a 80 mile recovery.
Tires stayed stone cold and did not give any trouble like they are literally designed to last a lifetime......... I also think they have like 12 plys or more unlike modern stuff.

But I have had issues with older tires in that the tubes deteriorate. I had one tube come out like shredded cheese. It was not a blowout but just literally fell apart. I have also had a bad flap. I think the tubes and flaps are more likely to fail than a NDT tire......

Ajax MD

@juanprado I did have a good tire that the tube let go on. I plan on putting a new tube in it and keeping it as a spare. The part where the valve stem attaches failed.